An Open Past

by

Multimedia, multivocal, Wikis, blogs, convergent approaches…

me

In the past these have all been viewed (by myself included) as ends in themselves; as a goal of the modern, laptop wielding archaeologist.

Why do these things?

That was always the question; what benefits would these approaches bring to modern archaeological discourse? I had almost skirted around these issues in the past. My answer to this question with regards to southern Romania is one that I still believe: By ignoring these techniques you are only encouraging an archaeological imperialism that does little except damage the area in which you are working (in this regard the line taken by the final SRAP publications will make interesting reading). Unfortunately, this answer holds little weight in the countryside of Middle Britain.

The answer to the question “why?” has been on the tip of my tongue for a while now and, with a flash of inspiration and a click of my fingers, it’s finally entered my brain: The persuit of an Open Past. All I needed to do was read that email and it hit me instantly. How could I have missed it before?

This needs to be expanded greatly but, for now at least, I’ve thought of it.

Leave a Reply

